Tags

, , , ,

In this post I’m going to talk about even lesser known band than the previous two.

Alpha Male Tea Party are three guys hailing from Lancashire who dub their music as Math Rock. If you don’t know what math rock is then lucky for you – I’m here to tell you! Math Rock is a sub-genre that doesn’t have a huge amount of popularity or mainstream coverage. The reasons could be many, but I think it’s down to one main thing. Math rock music is often an experiment in form and structure. Similar to Meet Me In St Louis (see previous posts), strange time signatures, jarring rhythms, dissonant chords and non-typical chord progressions can often leave listeners feeling disoriented and jarred. Also, it’s hard as f*ck to dance to. That being said, it’s still one of my favourite genres.

The reviews have been good and I whole heartedly recommend you give AMTP’s bandcamp a listen to. You’ll quickly, within the first 30 seconds of the opening track, see the math rock elements. What I love about this album is its bouncy positivity. It bounds along relentlessly like a giant, fluffy, happy, mentally challenged rabbit. Things which unashamedly embrace alternative styles, whether it be song structure or harmonic constructions, really appeal to me. As you can see from their video, AMTP aren’t afraid to fully be themselves.

