Tags

, ,

Brian Poole and the Tremeloes is one of those bands that emerge when another band explodes on to the scene- in the Tremeloes’ case it was the Beatles. In fact, rediscovered my love for him after I managed to buy a rare LP record, thanks to Ferratum UK (no way I could have afforded that on my own, and thank god for short loans for certain well deserved indulgences. I have been in love with Brian Poole since I heard Twist and Shout for the first time- even though I did not realize that there was a Beatles song by the same name at the time. In fact, Decca Records, in the 1960s, auditioned the Tremeloes along with the Beatles, as they were looking for a Beat band to represent the company. They decided on the Tremeloes, which went on to have a successful musical life, even though they did not become as popular as the Beatles.

Brian Poole and the Tremeloes

The Tremeloes had a sound that was incredibly similar to the Beatles, in the sense that both of them were highly 60s, the musical progression used was similar and the themes tended to overlap as well. The Tremeloes also covered a number of popular songs by other bands. But I have always thought that Brian Poole is an incredibly talented person (I even like the work he did when he left the band to pursue a solo career). There is just something about a musical underdog story I cannot resist, I guess.

