Tags

,

It’s been a while since I looked at books that influenced me and continue  to challenge the non mainstream approach of writing. Haruki Murakami is one of the most intriguing men on the planet in my opinion.

He made a recent public appearance, and that is a rarity for  this man, so I was pleased to find some very current insights into a writer who’s influenced me for the last year after writing Kafka and Norwegian Book back to back.

Appearing at KORIYAMA, Fukushima for a literary conference he made a surprise guest appearance.  The most intriguing fact shared? Fried oysters may be the secret to his writing.  After years of writing in Japanese with his own authentic voice as his only guide, stories based on his own life that I so appreciate, have now put him up for the Nobel Prize in Literature this year.

url-3

Haruki Murakami

It was Norwegian Wood that actually first caught my attention. I shared a quote for years from this book.

“And once the storm is over, you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.”

Norwegian Wood made the top ten winter books to cuddle up to in Marie Claire’s blog released recently! You should visit that amazing blog to see what other books were on that list, stellar company to be in!

91fJxgs69QL._SL1500_

NorwegianWood

Yes, I recommend this book if love and loss and redemption and honesty and the depth of our soul is something you yearn for in literature. This man has changed my life in some ways, and I think every great author should do just that.

Happy holiday reading!

 

